Super Mario 3D World Quick Review/Discussion

Super-Mario-3D-World-18

Super Mario 3D World, if the name didn’t give it away, is the latest game in the 3D platforming Super Mario series (as opposed to the 2D NSMB games, or the RPG games, or the sports titles or the …. yea Mario’s in a lot of different games). It’s actually a sequel to Super Mario 3D Land on the 3DS which just so happens to be, along with Galaxy, Galaxy 2 and Super Mario 64…my favorite 3D Mario game of all time! (It should be noted I’ve never played Sunshine, but there are plans). I don’t want to spoil anything, so I’ve kept this as spoiler free as possible minus a few screen shots. With that being said let’s talk about the game! 🙂

The game play is absolutely superb. Mario’s controls are very tight.  He has more or less the same control scheme as Super Mario 3D Land bar how the new power ups control. So it’s X/Y to dash and A/B to jump. Of course the best way to play is with pressure on Y and jumping by rolling the thumb onto B ; People who move their thumb from jump to sprint are FILTHY CASUALS. The level design is ridiculously good particularly in the post game worlds (oh yea, there are post game worlds *SPOILER NUMBA 1*). The ‘story’ worlds are on average quite easy, but that’s not to say they are not fun! They are of course built around the new power ups, the biggest being the new cat suit. And I FUCKING LOVE THE CAT SUIT. And you will love the cat suit suit too otherwise you’re a FILTHY CASUAL.

The game looks absolutely gorgeous. I couldn’t take my eyes off the Lava. No srsly. I couldn’t. So glowy. Every level looks really nice. There’s some lovely lighting and of course it’s a very colourful game. Here’s a couple of levels that I uploaded myself to my facebook as I was playing the game straight from Wii U thanks to the image sharing capability 🙂

1398889_632810800094457_1494016925_o 1405020_631981196844084_416925864_o 1412522_636083846433819_758482878_o 1487732_632402563468614_452830200_o

 

LOOK AT ALL D SHINY AND ALL D COLOUR SO PRETTY

The soundtrack is the absolute bizzniss. There was not a single track whether it was completely new or a remix of an old song that I did not enjoy. My favourite new track plays during one of the boss segments, it’s so upbeat and jazzy, it’s the song you can hear in the second official trailer Nintendo released

If I was to link every song I loved there would be a fair few videos. But here’s a remix of the snow theme  from 3D Land which sounds absolutely lovely in its new orchestrated form

The game has lots to offer. There’s plenty of new ideas that I don’t want to spoil. The really ‘big’ new thing about the game is the fact that it’s the first 3D Mario game that incorporates multi-player (up to four players, plenty of options for secondary controllers). It’s a brilliant addition. A lot of the levels that you might breeze through alone suddenly become very chaotic and fun with other players. I know I had a lot more fun playing some of the earlier stages with my girlfriend than I did alone. The later stages that require precession and good timing are definitely best played solo though, to avoid some serious frustration.

It’s kind of a given for most Wii U games now (damn you Lego City), but for those of you wondering, the game supports off tv play, multiple control schemes and miiverse functionality.

It’s a main series Mario games. It has fantastic graphics, music and gameplay. Honestly, what else was there to expect? It’s a must have title for most Wii U owners. I’d never call any one title a system seller. But this game, along with the plethora of other fantastic exclusives -Pikmin 3, The Wondeful 101, NintendoLand (Or NewfoundLand if auto correct is anything to go by), NSMBU +NSLU, Windwaker HD, Rayman Legends* (Unique features), Monster Hunter and Zombi U/Lego City/Sonic Lost World to some degree should hopefully start putting the Wii U on consumers maps.

If you at least don’t ever want to purchase a Wii U, find a friend who does and play this game, you owe it to yourself

Hope you’re all enjoy your holidays. I know I am 🙂

Drop me a comment if you have any questions about the game! And thanksssss for reading XD

-Tim Out!

Leave a Reply

