Zelda Month (Ok, 1 day late) – My top 5 favorite Zelda games (so far)

Image

So, those of you who follow Peanut Butter Gamer on YouTube are well aware that November has unofficially become Zelda month (I wrote most of this last week, it’s December the 1st, so I’m posting it one day too late) . Me and my girlfriend are big fans of PBG and have watched a fair few of his videos and all of the Zelda month videos posted (so far). He kicked things off with a hilarious video of Wind Waker glitches. I’d definitely recommend checking it out and subscribing to his channel if you have not already. He puts out some great content

Last year he did a top 5 (or maybe it was 10) Zelda games. So in honor of Zelda Month I thought I’d do the same! Now it should be noted that I’ve only played 6 Zelda games and not completed two of them, so this is more of an ordering of the games I have played. Link’s Awakening is the one game that does not make it onto the list. I wasn’t a big fan of it. I got stuck about halfway through and dropped it and never came back 😦 Maybe I’ll try it again in a year or two. I know a lot of people love it.

Before I start I want to make it perfectly clear that this ordering was very very difficult and I’m probable to change my mind in the future. The gap between some entries on the list is near minimal!

Without further ado, coming in at number 5 is

dah dah dah dahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

5. The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker

Image

Wind Waker is the other title on the list I mentioned that I did not finish. Let me explain. I was about 4/5 of the way or more through the game. I was at the part where you must collect the pieces of the triforce. Then I perchance happened to gaze upon a certain Nintendo Direct, which had a certain trailer for a certain HD remake in it. Basically they announced The Wind Waker HD and I dropped the game there and then. I knew I was going to get WWHD so I thought I may as well finish it then too. It’s tucked away somewhere in my sister’s room, I’ll be getting it for christmas 🙂

It’s got that lovely cel shaded graphics style and it breaks my heart that something so simple can be a barrier to people. A really great game is here and it has and will be ignored because of the graphics. The neon colours are very striking when facing some of the bosses and then cin opposition to that some of Link’s facial expressions are made exceptionally adorable by the style! Anyway, I never got bored of exploring the sea, as many claim they had, not with the fantastic overworld theme blasting through my speakers. It genuinely gave me a great feeling of adventure.

It’s definitely one of the simpler Zelda titles and one I would recommend, maybe even the most, to people who are looking to get into the Zelda series. One of my favorite tracks from the game is Outset Island’s theme.

It’s very upbeat and happy. I absolutely loved the motifs from the Kokori Village theme song splashed throughout it. Which of course hints that Outset Island was once Kokori Village. Although the Deku Tree isn’t there so that now has me confused. Ah well, I now have something to Google. All in all I found Wind Waker to be a delightful experience and I’m excited to both re-play and finish it. I plan on playing the two related DS games afterward too. Exciting times gaiz. Moving on to nombre 4.

4. The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time (3D)

Image

OMFG OCARINA OF TIME SHUD BE FIRST

I CANT EVEN

Ok ok. Relax. I know. Many many may Zelda fans have this game at the top of their lists and even some will put a strong proposition forward that it’s the greatest game ever made. WELL WATEVS. It’s seriously is  an absolutely fantastic game though. The reason it’s not first is my own fault. I made the mistake of letting this be my first Zelda game. It’s not that I’m saying it’s a hard game, but it’s certainly not friendly if you’re new to the series. Too many times I didn’t know what to do or where to go. And I would of used the stones that guide you but I didn’t know how. I ended up looking up walkthroughs far too often and it ruined the experience a bit for me. I still thought the game was brilliant while I was playing it. When you step out onto Hyrule field and the theme starts playing and seeing the world open out in fron of you is nothing short of epic. Just thinking about Links “HYUH” as you roll your way from place to place ( because for all Link’s strengths the chap can’t sprint) brings a smile to my face. You also get stalked by an owl. That’s cool. On to NUMBAH 3!

3. The Legend of Zelda

Image

So after playing Ocarina of Time I decided I liked this series and that I’d try out some of the other games. So I thought where better to start than the beginning? I also thought that the mechanics would be at their most basic in the first entry so I could more or less build up my understanding of them from here. I have to admit I was completely hooked on this game. I have an old CRT tv at the end of my bed, I hooked the gamecube up to it and played it via the collector’s edition. I always want to get the intended experience out of old games so I always track down the instruction manuals. Something I know a lot of reviewers don’t do, and then complain like “How was I supposed to know b and down would throw a grenade” and I’m like READ.THE.MANUAL.YOU.SALAD. But anyway, I did indeed find the manual and it actually helps you out to find the first dungeon and not only that but the original game actually came with a map!

legend_of_zelda_map_front

And to be honest I can’t imagine the game is even playable without it. It massively enhances the experiences. It more or less gives you the locations of the first few dungeons and other things to investigate. Then you can jot down notes on it and even fill out the remaining empty squares by hand. Just having the map beside you, I dunno, I guess it made the experience seem more real. Something else I did was draw the dungeons as I went along, it’s pretty easy because the dungeons just consist of blocks, so you just start in the middle of the page and then add a block as needed. I actually found the pages I did these on in my notepad that’s dedicated to taking notes for games, although I couldn’t find my map :(. Here’s an example

IMG_20131124_210448

Yea, I really got into the game.

I loved it, I really did. It felt extremely nostalgic and yet I had never even played it before. That’s something very special. I had my blanket wrapped around me, map by my side and was up until 2 or 3 in the morning trying to get through some of the harder dungeons at the edge of my bed glaring at the CRT tv. Unforgettable.

Moving on to number 2!

2. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past

Image

This would be the first Zelda game me and my girlfriend played together and by played together I mean I played it and she watched 😀 Well, what can I say about a Link to the Past that hasn’t already been said? It’s a superb game. There are SO many dungeons to complete that I was shocked when, upon thinking I had everything done, I was thrown into the dark world! It was really brilliant how they overcame the hardware boundaries. I was finally in the groove of things when it came to playing this game too.  When I got stuck, it always felt like my own fault. Getting stuck was finally fun!

We thoroughly enjoyed A Link to the Past. I honestly can’t find a flaw with it. It was perfectly paced, perfectly structured and just perfect. I’ve seen footage of A Link Between Worlds and I REALLY like what I’m seeing. I’m very excited to play it. But I think I’ll play Twilight Princess first. The remixes of the ALTTP music in ALBW already has me mad buzzed. Just listen to the dark overworld theme

SEXILICIOUS.

MOVING ON TO NUMBERRRRR ONEEEEEEEEEEEEE! :O

1. The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Image

To me, this game is just the epitome of what The Legend of Zelda is all about. I really felt that Nintendo absolutely nailed it. It just felt like the absolute perfect concoction of all things Zelda. It’s on that plateau of favorite games of all time for sure along with other titles like Super Mario Galaxy and Kingdom Heart 2 and others.

Soaring through the sky on the wings of your crimson loftwing with that epic Sky theme blaring in the background and effortlessly tilting the controller to guide the bird via motion controls was just an experience unlike anything before. It was epic, pure epic. Everything about the game was epic. All of the motion controls were just spot on. Some of my favorite things to do were guide the beetle, shoot arrows and fight with swordplay all thanks to the motion controls. I have no complaints about Skyward Sword. Every moment was a moment of pure joy. Gaming Bliss. I’ll leave you with my favorite track from the game, enjoy

Thank you for reading, feel free to comment your top 5 Zelda games.

The top 5’s are always ridiculously dissimilar in the Zelda community!

I’m enjoying Super Mario 3D World a little too much at the moment. Is anyone else playing it?

Happy Gaming.

-Tim Out!

Leave a Reply

